How MLB Morning Lineup won the day during a wild Wild Card finish

👋🏻 Welcome to Newsletter Examples, where I highlight cool sh*t I’m seeing in newsletters that you can steal for your newsletter.

This week, I’m showing how MLB Morning Lineup became my go-to baseball newsletter by chronicling the wild end to regular-season play. Reading time: 2 minutes.

Not a subscriber yet? Whadya waitin’ for?

⚾️ Leverage your strengths

MLB Morning Lineup’s affiliation with Major League Baseball gives it two big advantages: 1) It has access to dozens of daily stories produced on MLB.com. 2) It can link to MLB game video, which few sports media brands can. If this newsletter was a team, they’d be the Yankees.

I dig the faded lineup cards in the banner

What I ❤️ about it: Their top story (“Here is everything at stake today…”) shares every potential playoff scenario and more. Headlines prioritize clarity over cuteness, and include team logos to help you scan for your favorite team. I’m not a Dodgers fan, but go Sho!

See for yourself: Full issue here.

⚾️ ⚾️ Pack the stats

Baseball fans are obsessed with statistics, and MLB Morning Lineup delivers them as distinctively as a Paul Skenes splinker.

What I ❤️ about it: They don’t just give you one-game stats, but put players’ numbers in context.

Plus: They include links to video highlights that aren’t filled with annoying ads.

⚾️ ⚾️ ⚾️ Check the scoreboard

I mostly only care about my team, the Cincinnati Reds (which sadly missed the playoffs), but I love how Morning Lineup shares every one of the previous day’s scores.

What I ❤️ about it: I know how the Reds have done by the time I open the email, but these logos make it easy to check their rivals’ scores.

⚾️ ⚾️ ⚾️ ⚾️ More GIFs plz

Other newsletters link to great plays. MLB Morning Lineup includes one must-see play, making it even more special.

What I ❤️ about it: It’s always spectacular, and you don’t have to click out to see it.

Hope you enjoyed this week’s examples. I’ll be back next week with a new set.

☮️ -Brad

P.S. Has this newsletter helped you? Get your team to sign up by sharing this link…🙏 

P.P.S. Shoutout to reader (and longtime friend) Dan Sadowsky for his helpful insights on this edition. Next season, I’m buying the seats!

What'd you think of this week's edition?

Tap below to let me know.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.