Inside the comedic genius of Smart Nonsense 🌈

👋🏻 Welcome to Newsletter Examples, where I highlight the formats, strategies, and best practices of leading newsletters to help you improve your newsletter.

Today, I explore the comedic genius of Smart Nonsense by examining its unique welcome email. Total examples: 1  (do this) . Total reading time: 2 minutes.

Not a subscriber yet? Sign up free here.

A smart (nonsense) way to hook readers ✅ 

Beavis and Butt-Head, a hilarious (but often inappropriate) animated sitcom from the 1990s, was created before Dylan Jardon and Henry Belcaster were born. But their newsletter, Smart Nonsense, has the same slapstick humor baked into its daily comics.

Hope you enjoyed this week’s breakdown. In my next issue, I’m sharing 3 more dope welcome emails. If you have any you love (yours included), shoot ‘em my way.

☮️ -Brad

P.S. I’m trying something new with this issue (h/t to reader Chenell Basilio of Growth in Reverse, for the idea). If you enjoyed this breakdown, please show me some ❤️ on Twitter.

P.P.S. My next email will hit your inbox in two weeks (next week is a “week of rest” for my company, and I’m taking full advantage). The fam and I are heading to Acadia National Park—if you’ve been and have any good recs (trails, grub, etc.), lemme know!

What'd you think of this week's edition?

Tap below to let me know.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.