How Cyber Patterns built a business on memes

👋🏻 Welcome to Newsletter Examples, where I highlight the formats, strategies, and best practices of leading newsletters to help you improve your newsletter.

Today, I’m breaking down the best email I read this week: Jason Levin’s Cyber Patterns. Total examples: 3(do this) + 0 ❌(don’t do that). Total reading time: 3 minutes.

Not a subscriber yet? Sign up free here.

Example 1: Build around your audience’s needs ✅

“I Stole Greg Isenberg’s Sales Funnel,” screamed the subject line in Jason’s July 14 newsletter. To bring the story to life, he shared a pic of himself with Greg, then explained Greg’s secret formula for building great products. Now I’m sharing that secret with you…👇🏻

Example 2: Help people learn while making them laugh ✅

Example 3: Just make people laugh ✅

Hope you enjoyed this week’s examples. I’ll be back next week with a new set.

☮️ -Brad

P.S. Thanks to my former colleague Steph Smith, creator of Internet Pipes (one of the coolest things anyone’s building on the internet), who encouraged me to make a few design tweaks to this newsletter, which she thinks will make my graphics more shareable.

P.P.S. Speaking of sharing, I spend several hours a week researching and writing this newsletter. It would mean the world if you shared this thread, or a word or two about this email, on your social channel of choice. The more people who read this, the more excited I am to write it!

🔉How The Hustle thinks about voice
🏅How Yahoo Sports AM reimagined the sports page
👟How The Kicks You Wear became a community hub for sneakerheads
💒How Marriage Minute became a must-read for marrieds
🎒How After School capitalizes on youth trends
🥾How Huckberry reimagined the marketing email
🗞️ How Semafor reinvented the news brief
😂How SatPost’s meme-ified business news
✍🏻 6 things I learned at The Newsletter Conference
🩺How Expert Witness protects doctors from lawsuits
🌐How International Intrigue grew 750% in 2023
🪧5 native ad formats that crush
🦐How The Infatuation upended restaurant reviews
🥼How Are You Okay? personalizes medical care
📈How Chartr reimagined visual storytelling
🌈 Inside the comedic genius of Smart Nonsense
🔥3 dope welcome emails worth copying

What'd you think of this week's edition?

Tap below to let me know.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.