How The Generalist's recurring revenue jumped ~20% in one week

👋🏻 Welcome to Newsletter Examples, where I highlight the most innovative features I’m seeing in newsletters to help you improve your newsletter.

This week, I’m featuring Mario Gabriele of The Generalist, whose recent issue on high-potential business startups led to a ~20% increase in annual recurring revenue. Total reading time: 2 minutes.

Not a subscriber yet? Sign up free here.

✅ Create a best-of list

A bunch of you have asked for examples of how to do thoughtful long-form journalism in a newsletter. The Generalist, which caters to tech founders and investors, is a great model.

Earlier this month, they published The Future 50, an in-depth breakdown of breakout startups. Here are a few things I loved about it…

Hope you enjoyed this week’s examples. I’ll be back in two weeks with a new set.

☮️ -Brad

P.S. I emailed Mario asking how The Future 50 has performed. He shared more insights, which I tweeted about here.

P.P.S. I’m taking next week off to recover from shoulder surgery—say a prayer for my wife, I’m intolerable when I’m constrained!

🔉How The Hustle thinks about voice
🏅How Yahoo Sports AM reimagined the sports page
👟How The Kicks You Wear became a community hub for sneakerheads
💒How Marriage Minute became a must-read for marrieds
🎒How After School capitalizes on youth trends
🥾How Huckberry reimagined the marketing email
🗞️How Semafor reinvented the news brief
😂How SatPost’s meme-ified business news
✍🏻6 things I learned at The Newsletter Conference
🩺How Expert Witness protects doctors from lawsuits
🌐How International Intrigue grew 750% in 2023
🪧5 native ad formats that crush
🦐How The Infatuation upended restaurant reviews
🥼How Are You Okay? personalizes medical care
📈How Chartr reimagined visual storytelling
🌈Inside the comedic genius of Smart Nonsense
🔥3 dope welcome emails worth copying
💥How Cyber Patterns built a business on memes
🎤How The Grudge Report moves its audience with voice

What'd you think of this week's edition?

Tap below to let me know.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.