How Yahoo Sports AM turned the Paris Olympics into newsletter gold

👋🏻 Welcome to Newsletter Examples, where I highlight the most innovative features I’m seeing in newsletters to help you improve your newsletter.

This week, I’m showing how Kendall Baker and Jeff Tracy of Yahoo Sports AM crushed the competition with their Paris Olympics coverage. Total reading time: 3 minutes.

Not a subscriber yet? Sign up free here.

✅ Go for curation gold🥇

As I rested up from shoulder surgery, which I conveniently scheduled for the beginning of the Paris Games, I’ve spent loads of hours consuming sports. And my favorite source of Olympic highlights was Yahoo Sports AM, which turned in a gold medal performance covering hundreds of hours of competition in 45 sports. Here are a few highlights…

Hope you enjoyed this week’s examples. I’ll be back next week with a new set.

☮️ -Brad

P.S. Want to see more of Kendall and Jeff’s playbook? I wrote about them more here.

🔉How The Hustle thinks about voice
🏅How Yahoo Sports AM reimagined the sports page
👟How The Kicks You Wear became a community hub for sneakerheads
💒How Marriage Minute became a must-read for marrieds
🎒How After School capitalizes on youth trends
🥾How Huckberry reimagined the marketing email
🗞️How Semafor reinvented the news brief
😂How SatPost’s meme-ified business news
✍🏻6 things I learned at The Newsletter Conference
🩺How Expert Witness protects doctors from lawsuits
🌐How International Intrigue grew 750% in 2023
🪧5 native ad formats that crush
🦐How The Infatuation upended restaurant reviews
🥼How Are You Okay? personalizes medical care
📈How Chartr reimagined visual storytelling
🌈Inside the comedic genius of Smart Nonsense
🔥3 dope welcome emails worth copying
💥How Cyber Patterns built a business on memes
🎤How The Grudge Report moves its audience with voice
💰️How The Generalist grew revenue 20% in one week

What'd you think of this week's edition?

Tap below to let me know.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.